Distinguished Teaching Professorship

AwardCall for Nomination

The purpose of this award is to recognize tenured faculty at the rank of associate professor or professor who perform outstanding teaching, teach at the introductory levels of their disciplines and promote the continuous development of teaching excellence and improved teaching among their colleagues in the UNT community. The award consists of the designation “University Distinguished Teaching Professor” and a one- time supplement of $5,000 added to the base salary. Up to five awards may be made per year to the most qualified candidates. Award recipients are recognized at the annual Salute to Faculty Excellence dinner and ceremony each fall.

Selection Process/Eligibility

Nominations for the designation of University Distinguished Teaching Professor shall be made by the department chair and submitted to the school or college dean.  A candidate’s nomination must be based upon a record of excellence consisting of a teaching portfolio covering teaching performance over the 5 year period prior to the nomination. School or college nominations shall be forwarded by the dean to the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs for consideration and shall include a letter of evaluation of the candidate by the dean.  Nominations will be reviewed by the University Distinguished Research Professor Selection and Review Committee.  Final nominations for the awards shall be submitted to the President by the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, acting in light of the recommendation of the University Distinguished Teaching Professor Selection and Review Committee.

To be eligible for this award, an individual must be a full-time tenured associate professor or professor, have a distinguished record of teaching, and demonstrate evidence of the potential for continued excellence in teaching as well as commitment to the development and promotion of excellent teaching performance.

Supporting Documents

Guidelines and Requirements

Faculty Annual Update Information  (VPAA Form 160)


February 2, 2015

Past Recipients

Year Faculty Member Department
2014 Michael Greig Political Science
2014 Dee Ray Counseling and Higher Education
2014 Francisco Guzman Marketing and Logistics
2014 Paul Dworak Music Theory
2013 Neal Brand Mathematics
2013 Elizabeth Hayes Turner History
2013 Alexander Pettit English
2012 Keith Johnson Instrumental Studies
2012 Eric Ligon Communication Design
2012 Corey Marks English
2012 Richard Tas Hospitality Management
2011 Kimi King Political Science
2011 Richard White Management
2010 Gopala Ganesh Marketing and Logistics
2010 Joseph Klein Composition Studies
2010 John Quintanilla Mathematics
2010 Sam Matteson Physics

For more information on this distinguished honor please visit UNT Policy.