Distinguished Research Professorship

AwardCall for Nomination

The purpose of this award is to recognize tenured faculty at the rank of professor who have achieved a truly exceptional record of creative activities or research productivity and who demonstrate a record of continued extraordinary productivity. The award consists of the designation “University Distinguished Research Professor” and a one- time supplement of $5,000 added to the base salary. Up to five awards may be made per year to the most qualified candidates. The Award recipients are recognized at the Salute to Faculty Excellence dinner and ceremony in the fall.

Selection Process/Eligibility

Nominations for the designation of University Distinguished Research Professor shall be made by the department chair and submitted to the school or college dean.  A candidate’s nomination must be based upon a record of sustained excellence over the course of his/her career. School or college nominations shall be forwarded by the dean to the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs and shall include a letter of evaluation of the candidate by the dean.  Nominations will be reviewed by the University Distinguished Research Professor Selection and Review Committee.  Final nominations for the awards shall be submitted to the President by the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, acting in light of the recommendation of the University Distinguished Research Professor Selection and Review Committee.

To be eligible for this award, an individual must be a full-time tenured professor, have a record of exceptionally distinguished research or creative activity, and demonstrate evidence of the potential for continued extraordinary productivity.


February 2, 2015

Supporting Documents

Guidelines for nominations 

Past Recipients

Year Faculty Member Department
2014 Dornith Doherty Studio Art
2014 Marco Buongiorno Nardelli Physics
2014 Mohammed Omary Chemistry
2013 Richard Dixon Biological Sciences
2013 Narendra Dahotre Material Science and Engineering
2013 Francis D'Souza Chemistry
2013 John Peters English
2013 Yong Tao Mechanical and Energy Engineering
2012 John Ishiyama Political Science
2012 John Ross Linguistics and Technical Communication
2011 Steve Friedson Music History, Theory and Ethnomusicology
2011 Timothy Jackson Music History, Theory and Ethnomusicology
2010 J. Baird Callicott Philosophy and Religion Studies
2010 Weston Borden Chemistry
2008 Timothy Montler Linguistics and Technical Communication

For more information on this distinguished honor please visit UNT Policy.