University Distinguished Teaching Professorships


The purpose of this award is to recognize tenured faculty at the rank of professor or associate professor who perform outstanding teaching, instruct at the introductory levels of their disciplines, and promote continuous development of teaching excellence and improvement among their colleagues in the UNT community. The award consists of the designation "University Distinguished Teaching Professor" and a one-time supplement of $5,000 added to the recipient's base salary. Up to five awards may be made per year to the most qualified candidates. Award recipients are recognized at the annual Salute to Faculty Excellence dinner and ceremony each fall.

2018 Call for Nominations and Nomination Guidelines

Selection Process/Eligibility:

Nominations for the designation of University Distinguished Teaching Professor shall be made by the department chair and submitted to the school or college dean. A candidate's nomination must be based upon a record of excellence consisting of a teaching portfolio covering teaching performance over the 5-year period prior to the nomination. School or college nominations shall be forwarded by the dean to the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs for consideration and shall include a letter of evaluation of the candidate by the dean. Nominations will be reviewed by the University Distinguished Teaching Professor Selection and Review Committee. To be eligible for this award, an individual must be a full-time tenured professor or associate professor, possess a distinguished record of teaching, and demonstrate evidence of the potential for continued excellence in teaching as well as a commitment to the development and promotion of excellent teaching performance.

Current Distinguished Teaching Professors:

Year Faculty Member Department
2017 Sheri Broyles Mayborn School of Journalism
2017 Ruthanne (Rudi) Thompson Biological Sciences
2016 Robin Henson Educational Psychology
2016 Lee Hughes Biological Sciences
2016 Rick Reidy Materials Science and Engineering
2015 Nicole Smith English
2015 Jacqueline Vanhoutte English
2014 Michael Greig Political Science
2014 Dee Ray Counseling and Higher Education
2014 Francisco Guzman Marketing and Logistics
2013 Alexander Pettit English
2012 Corey Marks English
2011 Kimi King Political Science
2010 Gopala Ganesh Marketing and Logistics
2010 Joseph Klein Composition Studies
2010 John Quintanilla Mathematics

For more information on this distinguished honor please visit UNT Policy 06.015.