UNT | University of North Texas

Search form

UNT Piper Professor Nominee


This award recognizes dedication to the teaching profession, as well as outstanding academic, scientific, and scholarly achievement. The award highlights excellence in teaching within the context of the full complexity of faculty endeavor.  Nominees are chosen to represent UNT and participation is by invitation only.  Fifteen awards of $5,000 each are made annually by the Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation and selection is made based on nominations submitted by each college or university in the State of Texas.  All nominees chosen will receive recognition and a certificate given by the Faculty Senate Awards Committee.  The Award will be presented at the Salute to Faculty Excellence dinner and ceremony in the fall.

Selection Process/Eligibility:

The Faculty Senate Awards Committee accepts nominations from students, faculty and staff for outstanding full-time faculty members and the committee submits a single nominee for UNT to the Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation.

2016-17 Call for Nominations

Past Recipients:

Year Faculty Member Department
2016 John Quintanilla Mathematics
2015 Smita Mehta Educational Psychology
2014 Michael McPherson Economics
2013 Neal Brand Mathematics
2012 Janice Hauge Economics
2011 Carol Wickstrom Teacher Education and Administration
2010 Francisco Guzman Business
2009 Julia Bushkova Instrumental Studies
2008 Pamela Harrell Teacher Education and Administration
2007 Kimi King Political Science