President’s Council University Service Award


This award was established to recognize annually a full-time, tenure and tenure-track faculty member for a record of outstanding service at The University of North Texas for at least a five-year period.  The $3,000 award is funded by the President’s Council.  This award is presented at the Salute to Faculty Excellence Dinner and Ceremony in the fall.

Selection Process/Eligibility

All UNT full-time, tenure and tenure-track faculty members are eligible, but previous recipients of the award are not eligible for nomination for five years following the receipt of the award.  Faculty may be nominated for the award by the Personal Affairs Committee (PAC) of a department, division, school or college or by any self-constituted committee of three or more tenure/tenure-track faculty members.

Nominations can be made by sending an email to the Faculty Senate Awards Committee at with the name and contact information of the nominee.  Please confirm with the nominee that he/she will is willing to apply for the award before submitting his/her name for considerationDeadline for nominations is in February. 

Complete application packets should be submitted in PDF format to the Faculty Senate Awards at

Past Recipients

Year Faculty Member Department
2014 Mark Vosvick Psychology
2013 Marie-Christine Koop World Languages, Literatures, and Cultures
2012 James A. Conover Finance, Insurance, Real Estate and Law
2011 Michael Nieswiadomy Economics
2010 John Quintanilla Mathematics
2009 Michael McPherson Economics
2008 Richard Wells Journalism
2007 Gloria Cox Honors College
2006 Frances Van Tassell Teacher Evaluation and Administration
2005 Emile Sahliyeh Political Science