President's Council Teaching Award


This award was established to recognize full-time, tenured/ tenure-track faculty member for a record of teaching excellence at the University of North Texas for at least a five-year period.  The $3,000 award is funded by the President’s Council.  The award will be presented at the Salute to Faculty Excellence Dinner and Ceremony in the fall.

Selection Process/Eligibility

Faculty may be nominated for this award by the Personnel Affairs Committee (PAC) of a department, division, school, or college or by any ad-hoc committee of three or more tenured/tenure-track faculty members.  Previous recipients of these awards are not eligible for nomination for five years following receipt of the award.

The selection criteria, requirements and application form can be found at the Faculty Senate website:

Nominations should be made by sending an email to the Faculty Senate Office at with the name and contact information of the nominee by 5:00 p.m. on Friday, February 6, 2015.  Please confirm with the nominee that he/she is willing to apply for the award before submitting his/her name for consideration.

Completed application packets should be submitted in PDF format to the Faculty Awards Committee at by 5:00 p.m. on Friday, February 27, 2015.

Past Recipients

Year Faculty Member Department
2014 Nicole Smith English
2014 Derrick D'Souza Management
2013 Casey Barrio Minton Counseling and Higher Education
2013 Janice Hauge Economics
2012 Neal Brand Mathematics
2012 Dee Ray Counseling and Higher Education
2011 Donna Ledgerwood Management
2011 Fang-Ling Lu Speech and Hearing Sciences
2010 Margie Tieslau Economics
2010 Haj Ross Linguistics and Technical Communication
2009 Pam Harrell Teacher Education and Administration
2009 Robin Henson Educational Psychology
2008 Yvonne Chandler Library Science and Information
2008 Bert Hayslip Jr. Psychology
2007 Sue Bratton Counseling and Higher Education
2007 Richard Tas Hospitality Management
2006 Duncan Weathers Physics
2006 Joseph Klein Music
2005 Linda Di Fiore Music
2005 Jennifer Way Art History