UNT News

UNT researcher’s Walmart Foundation grant aims to bring jobs back to U.S.

DENTON (UNT), Texas — A nearly $350,000 grant awarded to a University of North Texas researcher by the Walmart Foundation and the U.S. Conference of Mayors is helping to bring manufacturing jobs back to the U.S. Bugao Xu, a professor and chair of the Department of Merchandising and Digital Retailing, received one of five grants in 2016 from the U.S.... Read more

UNT librarian wins national award

Julie Leuzinger, associate librarian and head of library learning services at the University of North Texas, has been awarded the 2017 Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) Politics, Policy and International Relations Section Marta Lange/SAGE-CQ Press Award. Leuzinger will receive the $1,000 prize during the American Library Association... Read more

UNT’S Teacher Education and Administration earns inaugural equity and diversity award

The University of North Texas’ College of Education’s Department of Teacher Education and Administration earned the inaugural Inclusive Excellence Award from UNT’s Division of Institutional Equity and Diversity. The award was presented to Jim Laney, department chair, and Miriam Ezzani, Educational Leadership Program coordinator in the department, at the... Read more

UNT professors, students and alumni win at media arts festival

UNT professors, students and alumni win at media arts festival   Two students, four former students and two faculty members from the University of North Texas’ Department of Media Arts won awards from the Broadcast Education Association’s Festival of Media Arts.Xiaoqun Zhang, assistant professor in the department, won first place in the Open Paper category... Read more

Jennifer Evans-Cowley named UNT Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Jennifer Evans-Cowley, a UNT alumna with more than a decade of experience in higher education leadership, has been named the new provost and vice president for academic affairs at the University of North Texas. UNT President Neal Smatresk said he is excited to have an alumna leading UNT’s academic community, someone who knows firsthand the quality of a UNT... Read more