UNT News

UNT professor recipient of 2018 Marcia C. Noyes Award from the Medical Library Association

Ana Cleveland, Regents Professor at the University of North Texas, is the recipient of the 2018 Marcia C. Noyes Award, the highest honor that the Medical Library Association confers. Cleveland, the Sarah Law Kennerly Endowed Professor and in the College of Information’s Department of Information Science, will receive the award at the MLA annual meeting in... Read more

UNT lecturer chosen to co-lead Medical Library Association Training Institute

Jodi Philbrick, a lecturer at the University of North Texas, has been chosen as the co-lead instructor of the Medical Library Association Research Training Institute. The institute was developed to improve the research capacity for practicing health sciences librarians. Philbrick, who works in the College of Information’s Department of Information Science,... Read more

Diane Bruxvoort named UNT's dean of libraries

The University of North Texas named Diane Bruxvoort to be the dean of libraries and librarian. Bruxvoort will begin her tenure at UNT April 1, 2018. She succeeds Cathy Hartman, interim dean of libraries and former associate dean of libraries. “I’m excited that such a high caliber leader is joining UNT to head our Libraries,” UNT Provost Jennifer Cowley said... Read more

Law created after Enron scandal has costly business impact, says UNT researcher

DENTON (UNT), Texas — New research from the University of North Texas shows that the Sarbanes-Oxley Act – an act passed in the wake of the Enron and similar corporate scandals – has expensive consequences for corporate financial reporting and many businesses operating in the U.S.Lili Sun, an associate professor of accounting at UNT, co-authored a paper... Read more

UNT awarded almost $2 million in NSF funding to study the rules of physics

Can engineering change the basic laws of physics? That is one of the questions three professors and a former student at the University of North Texas are attempting to answer.Arup Neogi, a professor in the College of Science’s Department of Physics, is the principal investigator on a $1,997,222 National Science Foundation grant that will explore such... Read more