Annual Open Access Symposium

March 2016- UNT’s annual Open Access Symposium, featuring presentations and interactive sessions led by researchers and librarians based in the US, Canada, UK, and the Netherlands from various fields of study, begins the afternoon of Thursday, May 19, 2017, with a keynote by Dan Morgan (publisher of Collabra). The symposium will continue on Friday, May 20, 2016, with an opening keynote by J.E.C.V. Rooryck, a linguist who led the mass resignation of the editors of an Elsevier journal and has launched a new journal aimed at having a fair, sustainable publishing model. Parallel sessions will include presentations on sustaining open-access publishing, researcher perceptions, open data, and institutional open-access policies. The afternoon's featured speaker will be Brian Nosek, a psychologist who co-founded the Center for Open Science, which operates the Open Science Framework, and the closing speaker will be Lorraine Haricombe, vice provost and director of the University of Texas Libraries.

Registration for the Open Access Symposium ends April 30, 2016!