J.H. Shelton Excellence in Teaching Award


This annual award, named for UNT alumnus Joe Houston Shelton, recognizes annually a full-time faculty member (including lecturers) for a record of outstanding teaching at the University of North Texas for at least a five-year period.  The recipient of this honor will receive a $1,500 award to be presented at the Salute to Faculty Excellence Dinner and Ceremony in the fall.

Selection Process/Eligibility

Faculty may be nominated for this award by the Personnel Affairs Committee (PAC) of a department, division, school, or college or by any ad-hoc committee of three or more tenured/tenure-track faculty members.  Previous recipients of these awards are not eligible for nomination for five years following receipt of the award.

The selection criteria, requirements and application form can be found at the Faculty Senate website:  http://facultysenate.unt.edu/jh-shelton-excellence-teaching-award.

Nominations should be made by sending an email to the Faculty Senate Office at FacultySenate@unt.edu with the name and contact information of the nominee by 5:00 p.m. on Friday, February 6, 2015.  Please confirm with the nominee that he/she is willing to apply for the award before submitting his/her name for consideration.

Completed application packets should be submitted in PDF format to the Faculty Awards Committee at FacultySenate@unt.edu by 5:00 p.m. on Friday, February 27, 2015.

Past Recipients

Year Faculty Member Department
2014 Jacqueline Vanhoutte English
2013 Robert Upchurch English
2012 Carol Wickstrom Teacher Education and Administration
2011 Nicole Smith English
2010 Henry Ellis History
2009 Lyndal Bullock Marketing and Logistics
2008 Karen Weiller-Abels Kinesiology/Health/Recreation
2007 Margie Tieslau Economics