UNT | University of North Texas

Search form

Faculty Showcase

Nov 29, 2017
Andrew Torget, Associate Professor in the Department of History has been getting rave reviews for his recent book, Seeds of Empire: Cotton, Slavery, and the Transformation of the Texas Borderlands, 1800–1850.
Nov 29, 2017
Professor Ricardo Rozzi of UNT’s Department of Philosophy and Religion was awarded the 2017 Enrique Beltran Prize for Conservation of Natural Resources by the Wildlife Society of Mexico and the International Council on Natural Resources and Wildlife. Professor Rozzi’s research has led to the creation of the Cape Horn Marine Park in Chile. For more information please click here.  
Nov 8, 2017
Dr. Rogers’ Miranda research is making a real difference for thousands of juvenile arrestees in Illinois with similar legislation being proposed in New York. Click here to read more.
Nov 8, 2017
Easter Seals North Texas integrates the research of Shahla Ala'i-Rosales and Jesus Rosales-Ruiz, UNT associate professors of the Department of Behavior Analysis, and that of their graduate students in order to improve the quality of life for children on the autism spectrum. For more information, click here.
Nov 8, 2017
Professor Saraju Mohanty of UNT’s Department of Computer Science and Engineering has recently received two significant forms of recognition for his work. First, he was named IEEE Distinguished Lecturer, an honor that goes to engineering researchers and professionals in the field who provide leadership in their disciplines in new technical developments that have the potential to have a global impact. He also was selected as one of only 42 winners of the 2017 Glorious India Award.
Nov 8, 2017
Under the tutelage of with Professor Brian Lain of the Department of Communication Studies, UNT Debate won its second straight state championship in November 2017. Competing in Corpus Christi, UNT edged out University of Texas at Austin, Texas State University, Texas A&M, Wiley College, Prairie View A&M, and many others from around the state.
Sep 5, 2017
Professors Arup Neogi and Arkadii Krokhin of UNT’s Department of Physics recently received a $2 Million NSF grant in the Emerging Frontiers in Research and Innovation program in the NSF Directorate for Engineering. This program focuses on supporting interdisciplinary teams of researchers in emerging areas that hold promise to  rapidly advance the frontiers of fundamental engineering research.
Sep 5, 2017
Three faculty members from UNT’s Department of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology have been awarded a $379,000 grant from the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board.
Sep 5, 2017
Professor Ian McGuire, Associate Professor of English, has received tremendous accolades for his novel The North Water. He’s made the longlist for The Man Booker Prize for fiction, and the book was just named one of theNew York Times’ 10 Best Books of 2016.
Aug 28, 2017
Terra Schwerin, Assistant Professor in Philosophy and Religion, has recently published her book "Toward a Better Worldliness: Ecology, Economy, and the Protestant Tradition". She discusses modern and current intersections of Protestantism (particularly the Protestant articulation of grace) and capitalism from the perspective of feminist and climate concerns.
Aug 22, 2017
  This year, recieving the Eagle UNT Foundation Emininent Faculty Award is the Department of Chemistry!  
Aug 4, 2017
Professor Guido Verbeck of UNT's Chemistry faculty has developed a mobile mass spectrometer, and have installed it on a Ford Fusion. This remarkable device has many possible applications. For example, it can be used to identify illicit methamphetamine or PCP labs by detecting traces of certain chemicals in the air. Professor Verbeck also believes that the car may have important applications in environmental protection - for example, in oil and gas drilling operations. Details here: https://chemistry.unt.edu/node/4464
Aug 4, 2017
Pamela Padilla, Associate Professor in Biological Sciences, has recently been awarded two grants totaling $1.4 million. The National Institutes of Health has awarded Prof.
Mar 21, 2017
Dr. Saraju Mohanty of the Department of Computer Science and Engineering has been named the new Editor-in-Chief of Consumer Electronics, the magazine of the IEEE Consumer Electronics Society.
Mar 21, 2017
Spencer Keralis, Research Associate Professor and  Head of Digital Humanities and Collaborative Programs at UNT Libraries, recently was awarded the Texas Library Innovative Outreach Award. He’s also been invited to serve a summer residency at the Queer Zine Archive Project in Milwaukee. These residencies are invitation only, and only a few invitations are issued each year. While in residence, Dr.
Dec 22, 2016
UNT faculty, staff, and graduate students are now able to participate in the online programming offered by the National Center for Faculty Development and Diversity (NCFDD).
Dec 21, 2016
Cynthia Mohr, Professor and Chair of UNT’s Design Department in the College of Visual Arts and Design, was recently named as this year’s recipient of the International Interior Design Association Leadership Award of Excellence. Professor Mohr’s professional work includes experiences in both residential and contract design.
Oct 31, 2016
Meredith Clark, Assistant Professor in the Mayborn School of Journalism, and two of her colleagues have had a $30,000 grant funded by the Spencer Foundation for a study about the
Sep 30, 2016
This year’s Salute to Faculty Excellence, a week-long celebration of the many ways UNT faculty excel, will begin September 19. Here is the schedule of the week’s events, includingthe annual Salute to Faculty Excellence Awards Dinner and Ceremony on September 22.
Sep 30, 2016
Amelia Kraehe, Assistant Professor of Art Education, was recently elected to serve as the Editor of 
Sep 30, 2016
How do college instructors learn to teach effectively? Many entered the classroom with trepidation and minimal formal preparation. Along the way, there were both uphill climbs and high points. Each instructor’s journey is a tale of lessons learned from success and failures.
Mar 16, 2016
UNT’s annual Open Access Symposium, featuring presentations and interactive sessions led by researchers and librarians based in the US, Canada, UK, and the Netherlands from various fields of study, begins the afternoon of Thursday, May 19, with a keynote by Dan Morgan (publisher of Collabra).
Dec 22, 2015
Balancing the demands of a fast-paced and challenging workplace with one's personal life is an ongoing challenge with which all faculty members must grapple. Sponsored by the Office for Faculty Success, UNT's Work-Life Balance Workshop was held January 29 in the new University Union. The speakers, all experts in their fields, focused on time management, healthy living, stress management, and more. The workshop speakers included:
Dec 14, 2015
UNT’s Center for Learning Enhancement, Assessment, and Redesign (CLEAR) holds the Teaching Excellence Seminar at the beginning of every long semester and is intended to educate and inform new instructors on UNT policies and best practices in teaching and learning.
Dec 1, 2015
As per UNT Policy 15.2.16, pre-finals week refers to the seven calendar days preceding the final week of each fall and spring semester and is designated so that students can adequately prepare for their final exams.