Yong Tao - 2013 Distinguished Research Professor

Tao Yong, Professor of Mechanical and Energy EngineeringYong Tao, professor and chairperson in Mechanical and Energy Engineering, was recently named one of UNT's Distinguished Research Professors.  Tao, an internationally known researcher in fundamentals of thermal sciences, refrigeration system performance, and renewable energy applications in buildings, has published more than 154 journal publications, book chapters, edited journals and proceedings, and peer-reviewed technical conference papers over the course of his career, and holds two patents. He has received over $12.2 million in research funding in multidisciplinary teamwork projects from the NSF, NASA, Air Force, DSL, DOE, ASHRAE and various industries.

As a Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineering (ASME), Tao brings international recognition to UNT.  He is a member of the American Society of Heating Refrigeration and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE), American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) and American Society of Engineering Education (ASEE). Additionally, he is the web editor of the Heat Transfer Division of ASME, and Editor of ASME Early-Career Technical Journal. During his 20 year career, Tao has served on numerous technical committees for ASME, ASHRAE and AIAA.

This fall, Tao will formally receive the prestigious Distinguished Research Professor at the Salute to Faculty Excellence Awards Dinner and Ceremony. To learn more about this award, including past award recipients, visit Distinguished Research Professorship.

View all 2013 Salute to Faculty Excellence Award Winners