Angela Wilson - 2013 UNT Foundation Leadership Award Recipient

Angela Wilson, Regents Professor of Chemistry and the Director for the Center for Advanced Scientific Computing and Modeling (CASCam),Regents Professor Angela Wilson received the UNT Foundation Leadership Award.  The recipient of this award must demonstrate a high degree of professionalism, be committed to the strategic mission of the university and encourage others to support and work toward the public good through innovative initiatives. 

A Fellow of the American Chemical Society and National Associate of the US National Academies, Wilson leads an internationally renowned research team that is working to create a chemical model that will accurately compute the energetics across the periodic table.  In September 2012,  the International Innovation journal featured Wilson as one of the leading "Trailblazers of North American Research." Funded by the National Science Foundation, Wilson, along with her team, work on computing periodicity with the goal of producing a basis for accurate computational chemistry by utilizing thermodynamics.

UNT has built one of the largest computational chemistry programs in the US as a result of Wilson's leadership and dedication.  This body of work has provided a rich, integrated research and education environment, and has created a stellar pool of doctoral, undergraduate, and high school students, who Wilson credits as being critical assets to her research efforts.  Dr. Wilson's leadership extends far beyond UNT.  She has been appointed to lead and advise various national academic, scientific, and government organizations.  Internationally acclaimed, she has published over 100 peer-refeered articles and serves on the editorial boards of several highly regarded scientific journals.

Dr. Wilson has won numerous awards including the prestigious National Science Foundation's CAREER Award, honoring young sholars who effectively integrate research and education within the context of their organization's mission and the 2010 Prix d'Incitation Scientifique du Centre de Mecanique Ondulatoire Appliquee (Promising Young Scientist prize of CMOA), an international award given to young scientists for outstanding achievements in chemistry and physics.  Wilson also received UNT's 2011 Research Leadership award for her groundbreaking research and was one of the featured speakers at the Distinguished Research Lecture on October 1, 2012 as a part of the Salute to Faculty Excellence week.  

Dr. Wilson will receive a one-time cash prize of $5,000 and a commemorative medallion at the Salute to Faculty Excellence dinner and ceremony September 27, 2013 at Apogee Stadium. 

View all 2013 Faculty Award Winners